Historic Sherbrooke Village
The French were the first European visitors to Sherbrooke, as early as 1655.
By 1815, the settlement that developed at the head of navigation became known as Sherbrooke, in honour of Sir John Coape Sherbrooke, Lieutenant Governor of Nova Scotia. For years, the community prospered, supported by farming, fishing, and the timber trade. Busy mills produced deal, planks, laths, spars, ships' knees, and shingles for the British and West Indian markets.
Then in 1861, the cry of "Gold!" was heard and the town became a live and energetic mining camp. By 1869, nineteen mining companies had flocked to participate in the discovery and Sherbrooke boomed. The boom lasted approximately 20 years, a time that could be described as Sherbrooke's Golden Age.
Mining was reactivated in the early part of the 20th century but never reached the same success. Lumbering continued as a major industry. Until the 1970s, the chief visitors to the area were sportsmen fishing for salmon in the pools of the St. Mary's River.
The Sherbrooke Village Restoration area was established in 1969 to conserve a part of Sherbrooke as it was during the last half of the 1800s. Today, Sherbrooke Village is administered by the Sherbrooke Restoration Commission under the direction of the Nova Scotia Museum. The picturesque village still stands proud, just as it did more than 100 years ago. The Village's 25 heritage buildings are brought to life by costumed interpreters, including blacksmiths, potters, weavers, wood turners and printers.
This virtual tour highlights just a smattering of the original buildings at sights to see at Sherbrooke Village. To really embrace the historical ambience, you will have to pay us a visit!